D-I Men · Women
D-III Men · Women


2019 College Championships Seedings, Schedules Announced

University of North Carolina Claims Top Spot in Both Divisions

Colorado Springs, Colo. (May 13, 2019) – USA Ultimate, the national governing body for the sport of ultimate in the United States, announced today the seedings and competition schedules for the 2019 Division I College Championships.

See the full schedules: Men’s / Women’s

The University of North Carolina claims the overall number one seed in both the men’s and women’s divisions. The North Carolina men’s team, Darkside, is the division’s defending champion.

In the men’s division, Brown, Pittsburgh and Cal Poly-SLO round out the top four. North Carolina, Brown and Pittsburgh each have two College Championships titles in their program’s histories. Cal Poly-SLO is the lone top seed without a national title. North Carolina and Brown are in the top four for the second straight year, with Pittsburgh returning after a year away from the top four. They reached the championship final in 2018. Cal Poly-SLO missed out on the College Championships last year, but after only losing four games in 2019, they are back at Nationals as the number four overall seed.

In the women’s division, sitting alongside North Carolina in the top four are Ohio State, California-San Diego and Carleton College. Of the four, only North Carolina has not taken home a College Championships title, to date. Ohio State, California-San Diego and Carleton College have each earned one championship, in 2014, 2002 and 2000, respectively. Like their men’s division counterpart, North Carolina finished the regular season atop the rankings and won their region to claim the top spot at the College Championships. Ohio State and California-San Diego finished second and third in the regular-season rankings, respectively, and a strong showing from Carleton College at their regional championship bumped them up to the fourth overall spot.

The 2019 Division I College Championships will be held May 24-27, at the Round Rock Multipurpose Complex in Round Rock, Texas. The event will be hosted by USA Ultimate, the Ultimate Players League of Austin and the Round Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau.

The D-I College Championships were first held in 1984. Each year, more than 800 teams compete in the USA Ultimate College Postseason Series, with just 40 advancing through conference and regional championship events to qualify for the College Championships.

Our Sponsors

Media Partners