D-I Men · Women
D-III Men · Women
Watch Live

Brown University

Brownian Motion

Team Biography

For over 40 years, the Brown Ultimate program has churned out players and coaches all across the country. Brown Ultimate, commonly referred to as “The Program,” claims two men’s national titles (1999 and 2005) and four* Callahan winners: Fortunat Mueller (1999), Justin Safdie (2000), Pauline Lauterbach Ruegg (2002), and Joshua Ziperstein (2005). The Program consists of three teams that compete in the men’s division –Brownian Motion, Polyester Funkadelic, Mothership – and two that compete in the women’s division – Disco Inferno and Cosmic Rays. Brownian Motion benefits from great youth ultimate scenes in the Bay Area, Seattle, Nashville, Philadelphia, Massachusetts, New York and Atlanta, as well as strong club programs in New York, Rhode Island, New Hampshire and Boston. This year’s BMo has relied on contributions from a strong sophomore class, which makes up most of its offensive line, and a standout group of freshmen headed by 2018 Rookie of the Year John Randolph. BMo returns to the College Championships after a 10-year hiatus, thanks to its youth and the superior coaching of Sam Lehman, Jake Smart and Tom Annen, whose commitment and acuity have taken BMo from kangaroo court to nationals contender.

*not including Mac Hecht (2019 projected)


Providence, RI


South New England


New England

College Championship Appearances


Best Finish

1st - 2000, 2005

Our Sponsors

Media Partners