D-I Men · Women
D-III Men · Women

D-I Men


Each year, awards are presented to teams and individuals in recognition of their embodiment and advancement of Spirit of the Game. The Callahan Award, as well as team and individual spirit awards are presented at the College Championships.

Callahan Award

Since 1996, the Callahan has been awarded annually to the most valuable players in college ultimate. Award nominees display superior skill and athleticism, making the difficult plays that so many players dream about look easy. But the award goes a step further than that.

In addition to their on-field success, winners of the Callahan Award also demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship, leadership and dedication to ultimate – personifying Spirit of the Game.

The award is voted on by current college players, meaning that Callahan Award winners have also earned the respect of their peers.

Team Spirit Award

At the end of each game at the College Championships, teams are asked to rate their opponents’ spirit, as well as their own, in a number of categories, including communication, rules knowledge and fair-mindedness. The scores are averaged, and the team with the highest score is awarded the Team Spirit Award.

Past Award Winners

Year Callahan Team Spirt Award
2023 Justin Burnett
Emory University
2022 John Randolph
Brown University
North Carolina State
2021 Azeez Adeyemi
Brown University
2020 Michael Ing
University of Pittsburgh
2019 Matt Gouchoe-Hanas
University of North Carolina
Cal Poly-SLO
2018 Gabe Hernandez
Stanford University
Stanford University
2017 John Stubbs
Harvard University
Virginia Tech
2016 Trent Dillon
University of Pittsburgh
Florida State
2015 Jonathan Nethercutt
University of North Carolina
2014 Jimmy Mickle
University of Colorado
2013 Dylan Freechild
University of Oregon
2012 Nick Lance
Georgia Tech
Georgia Tech, Minnesota-Duluth
2011 George Stubbs
Harvard University
Colorado College
2010 Eli Friedman
University of Oregon
2009 Will Neff
University of Michigan
2008 Joseph Kershner
University of Arizona
2007 Dan Heijmen
University of Wisconsin
2006 Tim Gehret
University of Florida
2005 Josh Ziperstein
Brown University
2004 Josh Ackley
University of Colorado
2003 Ben Wiggins
University of Oregon
2002 Mike Zalisk
Tufts University
2001 Alex Nord
Carleton College
2000 Justin Safdie
Brown University
1999 Fortunat Mueller
Brown University
1998 Brian Harriford
Louisiana State University
1997 Jim Schoettler
1996 Keith Monoham
Oregon State University

Our Sponsors

Media Partners