D-I Men · Women
D-III Men · Women



Each year, awards are presented to teams and individuals in recognition of their embodiment and advancement of Spirit of the Game. Team and individual spirit awards, along with the Donovan Award, are presented at the Division III College Championships. The inaugural Donovan Award winners were announced in Lexington, Ky., in 2017.

Donovan Award

Introduced in 2017, the Donovan Award is presented to a female and male player from Division III who are selected by their peers in the division. The ideal candidate for the award meets the following criteria:

  1. Demonstrates an exceptional level of skill and athleticism on the field.
  2. Upholds the principles of Spirit of the Game, equity, and fairness in their own actions, as well as holding teammates accountable to do the same.
  3. Is a leader off the field, both on their team and in the greater ultimate community.

Team Spirit Award

At the end of each game at the College Championships, teams are asked to rate their opponents’ spirit, as well as their own, in a number of categories, including communication, rules knowledge and fair-mindedness. The scores are averaged, and the team with the highest score is awarded the Team Spirit Award.

Past Award Winners

Year Donovan Team Spirt Award
2023 Oliver Kraft
Colorado College
2022 Leo Sovell-Fernandez
Middlebury College
2021 Hunter Lang
University of Richmond
2020 Harris Cannon
University of Richmond
2019 Alan Villanueva
Air Force Academy
2018 Zachary Norrbom
Mary Washington
Puget Sound
2017 Henry Babcock
University of Richmond
John Brown
2016 Richmond
2015 John Brown
2014 Cedarville
2013 John Brown
2012 Claremont
2011 Harding, Swarthmore
2010 Missouri S&T

Our Sponsors

Media Partners